Belly Hooking   3 comments

I know what you might be thinking, belly hooking? That’s an interesting title. But let me explain. When we belly hook, it is literally hooking a cable to the belly of a helicopter so that a load can be slung to another place. Typically there is a Helicopter attendant that does this, but on this particular day, the helicopter didn’t land to drop supplies so it was faster to have someone from the camp hook the load. And guess who volunteered first: me. So, mom don’t freak out, but here is a video of me belly hooking to a helicopter.

Posted October 31, 2011 by dwoodward707 in New Harbor

3 responses to “Belly Hooking

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my!!! This looked like a scene out of a James Bond movie. I’m excited for you. Love Mom

  2. Your are without a doubt the best belly hookers I’ve ever seen, Danielle. Gee, it sure was loud and I’m freezing looking at it. What was it like for you? That’s a fantastic video and your mom is right, and it also needs loud action music!

    The only thing that would make it even more fantastic is if your dad was on that thing catching a ride … maybe that’s a new sport.

    Oh, I forgot to include a joke for my last entry about the cookie. Are you ready?

    Question: Why did the cookie go to the doctor? Answer: Because he felt kind of crumby.

    And now, back to thinking up a Belly Hooking jokes. In the mean time, have a cup of hot cocoa, kiddo.

    • It was like getting hit was 125 mph winds. All that dirt and snow go everywhere. And then you are in the calm of the storm and everything is still, but loud. It was awesome to have a helicopter hovering above you. Completely unreal. I really hope I get another chance to do another belly hook.

Leave a Reply

